Our Commitment to
Diversity and Inclusion

We believe that the diversity of our student body strengthens the UVU School of Education and that each student deserves to contribute in meaningful ways. We prepare our educators and clinicians to embrace the rich diversity of their future students and clients in equitable and caring ways, focused on the assets inherent in each individual. The SOE Inclusion Plan aims to fulfill this commitment and the UVU commitment to foster educational environments that nurture intellectual curiosity around global citizenship and intercultural responsibilities. Our hope is that this plan helps us all lead the way to a more diverse, inclusive, and just future.

Our Inclusion Fund

The SOE Inclusion Fund provides an opportunity for monetary support for the continued pursuit of our mission of inclusion. Many of the SOE faculty, staff, and students are already seriously engaged with promoting UVU’s focus on inclusion in their activities and scholarship. This fund aims to help support and promote those activities. The below application for funding includes additional details about the fund.

Our Committee

Benton Brown

Assistant Dean - School of Education
Committee Chair

Stan Harward

Associate Dean / Professor - School of Education

Krista Ruggles

Assistant Professor-Elementary Education

Debora Escalante

Director of Graduate Studies - Associate Professor - Elementary Education

Axel Ramirez

Professor - Secondary Education

Elaine Tuft

Department Chair / Professor - Elementary Education

Suzy Cox

Associate Professor - Secondary Education

Bryan Waite

Department Chair / Professor - Secondary Education

Trevor Warburton

Assistant Professor - Teacher Education

Jane Carlson

Director - Melisa Nellesen Center for Autism

Cindy Wilkinson

Admin Support Secondary Education

Admin Support Global Engagement

Janiece Seegmiller

Coordinator - SOE Clinical Experiences

Kim Fale

Education Advisor - Secondary Education, Special Education, and Autism Studies minor

Katelyn Muro

Student Senator


For more information or to contact our SOE Inclusion Committee:


(801) 863-5657