We help prepare teacher candidates to meet the UETS (Utah Effective Teaching Standards) and the InTASC (Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium) Standards.

The goal of the program is to provide coursework and experiences that will prepare competent, caring, and qualified individuals who are ready to assume the role of teacher and to prepare them for further career choices and advancement. Candidates enter the program at the junior level of their undergraduate education where they have completed general education and pre-program required courses and in so doing have a background in the arts and sciences which prepares them with a general content knowledge base.

Candidates for the initial teaching license in the State of Utah must have received training in, and show competence in, the InTASC standards. Utah’s Professional Teaching Standards were primarily derived from the InTASC standards, thus both the School and the State have an intense interest in and focus on these standards. By assessing essential performances, and the understanding and application of knowledge and skills, the School claims that it can verify that candidates meet the InTASC Standards. The following outlines the InTASC clusters and their respective standards with a brief description of what each entails:

Cluster 1: The Learner and Learning

Standard #1: Learner Development

The teacher understands how learners grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.

Standard #2: Learning Differences

The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards.

Standard #3: Learning Environments

The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.

Cluster 3: Instructional Practice

Standard #6: Assessment

The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s and learner’s decision making.

Standard #7: Planning for Instruction

The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross disciplinary skills, and pedagogy, as well as knowledge of learners and the community context.

Standard #8: Instructional Strategies

The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.

Cluster 2: Content

Standard #4: Content Knowledge

The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content.

Standard #5: Application of Content

The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.

Cluster 4: Professional Responsibility

Standard #9: Professional Learning and Ethical Practice

The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.

Standard #10: Leadership and Collaboration

The teacher seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for student learning, to collaborate with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.